As mentioned earlier on our website ghumteganesh.com that Shiva Linga means “Shiva’s sign” “Shiva’s symbol” which reminds us of Shiva. Shivaling is very sacred for every devotee. It is revered. Jyotirlingas get top positions in Hindu texts, meaning they are very sacred and revered. 


Shiva is omnipotent and 12 Jyotirlinga marked in India are the brightest symbol of the same Almighty Shiva. All of them have special reverence because it is believed that at the very night of Lord Shiva Aridra Nakshatra, on the night of the Lord, he himself appeared in place of these 12 Jyotirlingas. Jyotirlinga temple is the temple where Shiva appeared as a fiery pillar of light. Originally there are 64 Jyotirlingas, 12 of which are considered to be highly auspicious and sacred. Each of the twelve jyotirlinga places takes the name of the presiding deity and all 12 Jyotirlingas have a different form of Lord Shiva. Lord Shiva is the god of power. It is believed that he has the powers to fix anything.

Jyotirlinga temples list

Aries = Rameswaram
Taurus = Somnath
Gemini = Nageshwar
Cancer = Omkareshwar
Singh = Vaidyanath
Kanya = Mallikarjuna
Libra = Mahakaleshwar
Scorpio = Ghrishneshwar
Sagittarius = Vishwanath
Makar = Bhimashankar
Kumbh = Kedarnath
Pisces = Trimbakeshwar

12 jyotirlinga map

Select your currency
USD United States (US) dollar